Shawn Reilly takes Waukesha's mayoral seat

Todd Ponath
Shawn Reilly, who was challenging Jeff Scrima for the mayoral seat, gets his ballot to vote on Tuesday at UCC Church. Reilly would find out later Tuesday night that he won the mayoral election.
Published on: 4/1/2014

For the second straight election, Waukesha's incumbent mayor has lost to the challenger.

And this one wasn't even close.

Challenger Shawn Reilly defeated Jeff Scrima in Tuesday's general election to become Waukesha's new mayor. Reilly, a longtime attorney in downtown Waukesha, had also won the four-person primary in February.

The general election result was similar to four years ago, when Scrima easily defeated Larry Nelson to become the city's new mayor after receiving 58 percent of the vote.

But four years later, voters made Scrima a one-term mayor as Reilly received 5,899 (62 percent) to Scrima's 3,642 (38 percent).

"I'm overjoyed," Reilly said Tuesday night. "I'm very happy and very grateful for those who supported me during my campaign."

Reilly said he believes the margin was so large because of his position on supporting the city's Great Lakes water application, his 22 years of experience as a municipal attorney, and the support he received from former Waukesha mayors and a majority of the Common Council.

Reilly will be sworn in as Waukesha's newest mayor during the April 15 Common Council meeting.

In a statement, Scrima said "We ran a positive campaign, and I am thankful for my family, supporters, and everyone who came out to vote. We are proud of what we have achieved the past four years, and still want Waukesha to continue this upward trajectory."

Joining him at City Hall will be local attorney Brian Running, who won the city attorney race Tuesday over Plan Commissioner and former Waukesha County Circuit Court Judge Rick Congdon.

Running garnered 5,195 votes or 60 percent of the vote, compared to Congdon's 3,452 or 40 percent. Congdon had won a three-person primary in February.

Running is replacing longtime city attorney Curt Meitz, who is retiring after a near 30-year career as the city's attorney.

Alderman Andy Reiland retained his District 13 seat on the Common Council as he defeated challenger Dean Lemke with 583 votes to 309. Reiland's seat is for three years.

Other aldermen who were re-elected Tuesday night were Eric Payne (District 2), Christopher Hernandez (District 3), Peter Bartels (District 5), Adam Jankowski (District 6), Daniel Manion (District 7) and Steve Johnson (District 10). They were all running unopposed.

It appears the balance of power has shifted on the Town of Waukesha Board as Jim Radke and Michael Doerr won supervisor's seats Tuesday.

Radke, a business owner and vice president of a trucking company, defeated the incumbent Joe Banske, 1,171 to 1,098 votes. Banske had been a supervisor since 2010, when he won a recall election.

Doerr, an area manager at AT&T, beat former Town of Waukesha Chairwoman Angie E. Van Scyoc, 1,205 to 1,072. Van Scyoc lost the town chairman's election last year to John Marek. Doerr replaces Supervisor Mike Laska, who was not seeking re-election.

Radke and Doerr now join Chairman Marek and supervisors Brian Fischer and Larry Wolf on the town board.