O'Bryan chosen as new Waukesha School Board member

Published on: 2/18/2014

Kurt O'Bryan has returned to the Waukesha School Board.

Three years after being replaced on the board by Karin Rajnicek, O'Bryan is back on the board after being chosen at a special board meeting earlier this month.

He is filling the seat that was vacated by Dan Warren, who stepped down at the end of 2013.

The School Board chose O'Bryan over the other applicants, William Anton Duncan, Dionisia Gonzalez, Roger Patton and Scott Allen.

Sue Ettinger, the superintendent's executive assistant, said each applicant sent in a resume and was interviewed by the board.

O'Bryan won, but it wasn't unanimous. He received four votes, Allen had two and Gonzalez one.

The seat was open after Warren's decision to move to Florida and step down after more than 20 years on the board.

Warren was the board president, so Vice President Barbara Brzenk is serving as the interim school board president.