Candidates revealed in Waukesha aldermanic seats

Patton has most challengers in downtown district

Dec. 31, 2012

Let the campaigning begin.

The deadline to file for candidacy in the City of Waukesha's aldermanic districts is 5 p.m. Wednesday at City Hall, 201 Delafield St.

Ten of the 15 districts will hold elections and about half will have challengers, particularly District 11 Alderman Roger Patton, who represents constituents in downtown.

Patton, who made news this year after resigning for the downtown Business Improvement District Board and then being rejected by his fellow council members when Mayor Jeff Scrima requested to have him be reappointed, looks to have four challengers.

After losing to Patton in the 2010 election, Lenny Miller is back and looking for different results. Kyle Villarreal Sr. has filed his nomination papers, while James Cowee and Tyler W. Hoffman have filed a campaign registration statement and declaration of candidacy, but, as of Saturday, did not file nomination papers.

Two of the districts will have new alderman as Richard Hastings in District 12 and Duane Paulson in District 15 have filed for non-candidacy.

Below is a list of the other elections in District 1, 4, 5, 6, 8, 9, 12, 14 and 15.

As of Saturday morning, District 1 had three interested candidates, two of whom were registered.

Mark Myers filed a declaration of candidacy and campaign registration statement but had not yet filed nomination papers. John Holst, who filed on Dec. 26, is looking to unseat incumbent Terry Thieme.

Barring a last-minute or write-in candidate, it appears the last two council presidents will return to the council with ease. No one has filed papers to challenge Joe Pieper, the current council president, in District 4 and Paul Ybarra, the past president, in District 5.

Marga Krumins, who was bypassed for current Alderman Adam Jankowski in District 6 this summer after Alderman Brian White died unexpectedly, has filed papers for the seat. Krumins lost to Rep. Bill Kramer in the Assembly District 97 race this November.

Jankowski, as of Saturday, did not make a formal filing to circulate nomination papers.

In District 8, Alderman Vance Skinner will be challenged by Emanuele Vitale, who served as the alderman in District 8 for six terms before losing to Skinner in the 2010 election.

Like Pieper and Ybarra, Kathleen Cummings in District 9, as of Saturday, did not have any challengers file for candidacy.

In District 12, it appears there will be a couple challengers for the vacant seat that will be left by Hastings' departure.

Aaron Perry and Gary J. Krivos have filed a campaign registration statement and declaration of candidacy (Krivos, however, unlike Perry, has yet to turn in his nomination papers). Gerald T. Bultman took out a packet but did make a formal filing to circulate nomination papers for District 12.

In District 14, Alderman Joan Francoeur does not have any challengers, while Russel Stewart and Cory Payne are seeking the District 15 seat left by Paulson.

The Primary Election is Feb. 19 and the spring General Election is April 2.

Editor's Note: The Jan. 3 print edition of the Waukesha NOW says that the primary is Feb. 2. As this online version states, the primary is Feb. 19. We regret the error. 


Local Crime Map



Latest Photo Galleries