Radke, Doerr gain Town of Waukesha supervisor's seats

Published on: 4/2/2014

The balance of power has shifted in the Town of Waukesha as two new supervisors were elected to the board Tuesday.

Supervisor Joe Banske lost his supervisor 1 seat to challenger Jim Radke, a business owner in the town and a vice president/general manager of a trucking company.

Radke won with 1,171 votes or almost 52 percent of the vote. Banske, who had been a town supervisor since 2010, had 1,098 votes or 48 percent of the vote.

Banske said last week he is considering running for the District 97 state assembly seat that will be vacated by Rep. Bill Kramer, who announced last week he is not running for re-election in November amid sexual assault charges.

Meanwhile, Michael Doerr defeated former Town of Waukesha Chairwoman Angie E. Van Scyoc for the supervisor 3 seat in a similar margin of victory as the supervisor 1 race.

Doerr, an area manager at AT&T, received 1,205 votes or about 53 percent of the vote. Van Scyoc, who was looking to return to the board after losing the chairman’s race to John Marek last spring, garnered 1,072 votes or 47 percent.

Doerr is replacing Supervisor Mike Laska, who did not seek re-election.

Radke and Doerr join Chairman Marek and Supervisors Brian Fischer and Larry Wolf on the five-person town board.