Waukesha School Board selects O'Bryan as new member

Published on: 2/6/2014

Kurt O'Bryan has returned to the Waukesha School Board. 

Three years after being replaced on the board by Karin Rajnicek, O'Bryan is back on the board after being chosen last night at a special board meeting. 

He is filling the seat that was vacated by Dan Warren, who stepped down at the end of 2013.

The School Board chose O'Bryan over the other applicants, William Anton Duncan, Dionisia Gonzalez, Roger Patton and Scott Allen.

Sue Ettinger, the superintendent's executive assistant, said each applicant sent in a résumé and were interviewed by the board and were asked 10 questions.

After the final interview, the board members discussed each candidate's interviews and the strengths and weaknesses of each.

O'Bryan won, but it wasn't unanimous. He received four votes, Allen had two and Gonzalez one.

The seat was open following Warren's decision to move to Florida and step down after more than 20 years on the board.

Warren was the board president, so Vice President Barbara Brzenk is serving as the interim president.