Early voting in Waukesha seeing huge numbers in 2012

City clerk expects a 90 percent turnout

Oct. 30, 2012

Like the rest of the state and country, election officials in Waukesha are gearing up for large crowds at the polls next Tuesday.

"I think the city will easily see in the 90th percentiles," City Clerk-Treasurer Gina Kozlik said.

Early voting began Oct. 22 and in-person absentee voting in the clerk's office ends on Friday.

Through the first week, Kozlik said her biggest day was 900 absentee voters in the office last Friday and Oct. 23 saw just more than 600.

Kozlik said the city had around 10,000 total absentee voters - 6,500 in-person - in 2008.

"It looks like we're on track to surpass 08's absentee (total)," Kozlik said.

And with there being only two weeks to vote absentee instead of the month there previously was to vote absentee, Kozlik wasn't sure what to expect.

"Since this year we are dealing with a condensed time frame of two weeks, we put a lot of effort into preparing for bigger numbers," Kozlik said. "I think we have a good flow and added some extra staffing to help us serve voters quickly."

Kozlik added that new registrations during in-person absentee voting is down, but she indicated that this is probably due to the fact that a good portion updated their registrations in June with the high interest in the recall election.

She said she has enough poll workers but added that she could use more absentee ballot tabulators.

In addition to the high-profile races, many local races affiliated with Waukesha County will be on the ballot.

On the ballot

All voters in Waukesha County will get to decide if Republican Kathleen Novack, a current Pewaukee alderwoman, or Democrat Jessie Read, a self-employed bookkeeper from the Town of Lisbon, will replace Kathy Nickolaus for the county clerk position.

Other elections include the District 97 Assembly race between incumbent Republican Bill Kramer and political newcomer Marga Krumins, a democrat. District 97 represents most of the City of Waukesha and Town of Waukesha.

The District 83 Assembly seat is also on the ballot for some Town of Waukesha residents. It's a rematch from last year when a special election was held between David Craig (R-Town of Vernon) and Jim Brownlow (D-Muskego). Craig won convincingly with 74 percent of the votes.

In Assembly District 98, Paul Farrow (R-Pewaukee) is being challenged by Eric Prudent (D-Waukesha). District 98 covers portions of the City of Waukesha.

In another election, Dave Heaster (D-Sussex) will face longtime incumbent Jim Sensenbrenner (R-Menomonee Falls) for the Congressional District 5 seat.

The 5th District represents a wide area from Jefferson County to some cities in Milwaukee, Ozaukee, Washington and Waukesha counties, including parts of the City and Town of Waukesha.

In the State Senate, the 28th District race features Democrat Jim Ward of Greendale against Mary Lazich, a Republican from New Berlin. District 28 covers four counties (Milwaukee, Waukesha, Racine and Walworth) and includes Wards 6, 9-12 and Wards 25 and 26 in the City of Waukesha and Wards 7, 9, 10, 11 and 12 in the Town of Waukesha.

State Reps. Chris Kapenga and Paul Farrow, both Republicans, square off in a special primary election for the 33rd Senate District seat vacated by Rich Zipperer. The 33rd Senate District covers most of the City of Waukesha and Wards 1, 2-6 and 8 in the Town of Waukesha.

For people voting on election day, here is a list of the polling places in the City of Waukesha:

Elks Lodge, 2301 Springdale Road, Wards 1 and 2 in Ald. District 1

Waukesha City Hall, 201 Delafield St., Wards 3, 4 and 5 in Ald. District 2

Rotary Building, 1150 Baxter St., Wards 6, 7 and 8 in Ald. District 3

Hawthorne School, 1111 Maitland Drive, Wards 9, 10 and 11 in Ald. District 4

Meadowbrook School, 3130 Rolling Ridge Drive, Wards 12 and 13 in Ald. District 5

E.B. Shurts Building, 810 W. College Ave., Wards 14 and 15 in Ald. District 6

Prairie School, 1801 Center Drive, Wards 16 and 17 in Ald. District 7

St. Mary's Church, 225 S. Hartwell Ave., Wards 18 and 19 in Ald. District 8

Heyer School, 1209 Heyer Drive, Wards 20 and 21 in Ald. District 9

Waukesha South High School, 401 E. Roberta Ave., Wards 22, 23 and 24 in Ald. District 10

E&R UCC Church, 413 Wisconsin Ave., Wards 25, 26, 27, 28 and 29 in Ald. District 11

Waukesha West High School, 3301 Saylesville Road, Wards 30 and 31 in Ald. District 12

Bethesda School, 730 S. University Drive, Wards 32, 33 and 34 in Ald. District 13

Fire Station No. 5, 3051 Summit Ave., Wards 35 and 36 in Ald. District 14

Blair School, 301 Hyde Park Ave., Wards 37 and 38 in Ald. District 15

To find out where to vote visit the Government Accountability Board's Wisconsin Voter Public Access website at vpa.wi.gov.

For the Town of Waukesha, all voting takes place at the Town of Waukesha Municipal Complex, W250 S3567 Center Road.


Tuesday's General Election

Polls open 7 a.m. to 8 p.m.

To find out where to vote visit the Government Accountability Board's Wisconsin Voter Public Access website at vpa.wi.gov.


Local Crime Map



Latest Photo Galleries